Welcome Anonymous !

Everything you need to modify your ride
 

Interior Modifications

FG ICC (Radio) Mods and Hacking

Specific interior modification information for Ford BA and BF Series Falcons, Fairmonts, Fairlanes, LTD's and FPV models.

Postby TazzI » Thu Aug 31, 2017 5:53 pm

PCM, BEM, Cluster and Sync2 fired up on bench.. still getting the same warning.

Went over the entire Power Saver circuit from the BEM and have that all set up correctly.

At a bit if a loss to get it powering up correctly on the bench! Must be missing something...

Has anyone else fired up the Sync2 by itself on the bench with nothing connected? Just want to see if the problem lies with other modules being needed, or if its a wiring related issue.
User avatar
TazzI
Moderator
 
Posts: 964
Images: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Postby fg6e » Sat Sep 02, 2017 12:19 pm

Seems odd do you have the gateway module connected ?
fg6e
Starting Ignition
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby fg6e » Mon Sep 04, 2017 6:02 pm

TazzI wrote:PCM, BEM, Cluster and Sync2 fired up on bench.. still getting the same warning.

Went over the entire Power Saver circuit from the BEM and have that all set up correctly.

At a bit if a loss to get it powering up correctly on the bench! Must be missing something...

Has anyone else fired up the Sync2 by itself on the bench with nothing connected? Just want to see if the problem lies with other modules being needed, or if its a wiring related issue.



Did you end up sorting out this issue ?
fg6e
Starting Ignition
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby TazzI » Mon Sep 04, 2017 7:12 pm

fg6e wrote:Seems odd do you have the gateway module connected ?

fg6e wrote:Did you end up sorting out this issue ?


Don't have the gateway module connected, forgot to grab it last time :roll:

From what Iv read up on it, the gateway should not be translating any messages between the CANBus's.
Its purpose is to allow connecting more then a few CAN buses to a scantool.

But.. sometimes theory doesnt match up with reality.. so its the next item to go pickup. :)
User avatar
TazzI
Moderator
 
Posts: 964
Images: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Postby fg6e » Thu Sep 07, 2017 7:22 pm

TazzI wrote:
fg6e wrote:Seems odd do you have the gateway module connected ?

fg6e wrote:Did you end up sorting out this issue ?


Don't have the gateway module connected, forgot to grab it last time :roll:

From what Iv read up on it, the gateway should not be translating any messages between the CANBus's.
Its purpose is to allow connecting more then a few CAN buses to a scantool.

But.. sometimes theory doesnt match up with reality.. so its the next item to go pickup. :)



How do you have the sync 2 system set up at the moment mate ?

Possible to send some pics up see if we can work this out for you
fg6e
Starting Ignition
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby TazzI » Fri Sep 08, 2017 11:06 am

fg6e wrote:How do you have the sync 2 system set up at the moment mate ?

Possible to send some pics up see if we can work this out for you


I actually found a blurb in the factory manual that the SDLC does actually indicate it translates a few messages between the bus's.. so thats actually of major importance.

Just waiting for the wrecker to let me know when hes got the part out. Hopefully this will help *fingers crossed*.

Otherwise, will grab some photos and start from scratch incase theres a mistake :roll:
User avatar
TazzI
Moderator
 
Posts: 964
Images: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Postby fg6e » Fri Sep 08, 2017 12:41 pm

TazzI wrote:
fg6e wrote:How do you have the sync 2 system set up at the moment mate ?

Possible to send some pics up see if we can work this out for you


I actually found a blurb in the factory manual that the SDLC does actually indicate it translates a few messages between the bus's.. so thats actually of major importance.

Just waiting for the wrecker to let me know when hes got the part out. Hopefully this will help *fingers crossed*.

Otherwise, will grab some photos and start from scratch incase theres a mistake :roll:


Where are you located ? I can provide you with one if you are in Victoria.

I'm doing more test tomorrow i got a fgx bem hopefully i can make it work on a FG1 and get this camera to work
fg6e
Starting Ignition
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby TazzI » Fri Sep 08, 2017 4:32 pm

Perth, WA... so a bit of a distance away :lol:

Got it working... SDLC is required (sigh..).. but up and running now.

Going to have to reverse engineer exactly what additional messages the SDLC passes around.. be nice to not rely on that annoying little thing.
User avatar
TazzI
Moderator
 
Posts: 964
Images: 2
Joined: Thu Dec 22, 2011 8:02 pm
Has thanked: 16 times
Been thanked: 41 times

Postby fg6e » Fri Sep 08, 2017 6:44 pm

TazzI wrote:Perth, WA... so a bit of a distance away :lol:

Got it working... SDLC is required (sigh..).. but up and running now.

Going to have to reverse engineer exactly what additional messages the SDLC passes around.. be nice to not rely on that annoying little thing.


Excellent glad you got it sorted out mate.

Mate if you can this to work in accessories and start i'll be happy and more then willing to buy a canbus module from you.

Tomorrow i'll hook up this FGX bem and see how we go hopefully it can read my car.

Camera i have got a chinese module for it but cannot get to work so i'll sort this out tomorrow (hopefully)

Also try and get the car back to factory so i can reprogram the cluster as the parking aid warning is starting to piss me off :lol:
fg6e
Starting Ignition
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

Postby fg6e » Sat Sep 09, 2017 6:33 pm

So the reverse camera is still a no go

I managed to get rid of the RSS fault on the cluster after i access the mid can bus through the 4 pin port and the diag plug

FGX BEM did nothing at all for the camera .

The interesting thing i found today was to access the mid can bus i wired up the MK1 icc to connect to the 4 pin diag plug and just added battery power to get no faults the icc actually powered up like normal so it makes me wonder why the MK1 has accessories & ignition wires for ?
fg6e
Starting Ignition
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:51 pm
Has thanked: 0 time
Been thanked: 0 time

PreviousNext

Return to Interior Modifications

  • View new posts
  • View unanswered posts
  • Who is online
  • In total there are 2 users online :: 0 registered, 0 hidden and 2 guests (based on users active over the past 5 minutes)
  • Most users ever online was 151 on Fri Mar 03, 2017 1:44 pm
  • Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests